patient safety quality healthcare


Improving patient safety is one of the most urgent issues facing healthcare today. Patient Safety and Quality Healthcare (PSQH) is written for and by people who are involved directly in improving patient safety and the quality of care.

PSQH welcomes original submissions from all healthcare professionals on topics related to safety and quality. PSQH publishes a variety of articles, to reflect the breadth of work being done in this field: case studies, surveys, research, book or technology reviews, guest editorials, essays, and letters to the editor.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Login
    Login Login form

MITSS Honors Thomas Gallagher, MD, with HOPE Award at Annual Dinner

Posted by on in PSQH Blog
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 4651
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print

Among the events I look forward to each fall, the MITSS Annual Dinner holds a special place because of the loyal and diverse community of people who gather to support and celebrate the work of Linda Kenney, Winnie Tobin, and many others who pursue the MITSS mission, to “support healing and restore hope to patients, families, and clinicians impacted by adverse medical events.” At this year’s dinner (the 11th annual), held Thurs., Nov. 29, in Boston, MITSS honored Thomas Gallagher, MD, with the HOPE Award, given each year to Honor Outstanding People Everywhere who have furthered MITSS’s mission. Sanjay Malaviya, president and CEO of RL Solutions, the award sponsor, presented Dr. Gallagher with this year’s honor.

Dr. Gallagher is a professor of medicine and professor of bioethics & humanities at the University of Washington School of Medicine in Seattle, Washington. He has authored more than 70 articles, book chapters, and books on the topic of error disclosure, bringing to bear his training in medicine and bioethics and his practical experience working with patients and clinicians following adverse events. He has led efforts to develop and validate tools to measure patient and provider ratings of the quality of actual disclosures, and is working with healthcare organizations across the country to implement these tools. Dr. Gallagher’s work is especially noteworthy for his ability to promote collaboration across key stakeholders who have not traditionally been involved in efforts to improve response to injury, such as plaintiff attorneys and regulators. By incorporating the entire spectrum of voices, his work has helped to accelerate the pace of change, helping to meet the needs of all those involved in medical injury. For more information about Dr. Gallagher’s work, click here.

I join MITSS and RL Solutions in congratulating Dr. Gallagher on this well-deserved honor and commending the other worthy nominees for the 2012 HOPE Award. MITSS’s independent selection committee reports that this was the most competitive field to date, showcasing exceptional quality work being done across the country.

Last modified on
Trackback URL for this blog entry.



ABQAURP American Society for Quality American Society for Quality Healthcare Division Consumers Advancing Patient Safety
EMPSF Institute for Safe Medical Practices
Medically Induced Trauma Support Services (MITSS) Medication Safety Officers Society NPSF Partnership for Patient Safety Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine