patient safety quality healthcare

New Organization Offers Patient Safety Certification

Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety to Launch CPPS Credential Exam During Patient Safety Awareness Week

The Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety (CBPPS) has announced the official launch date for the highly-anticipated Certified Professional in Patient Safety (CPPS) exam. This credentialing process is designed to establish patient safety competency standards and elevate the professional stature of healthcare professionals who meet knowledge requirements in safety science, human factors engineering, and the practice of safe care.

In recognition of the advancement of patient safety as an acknowledged and critical discipline across the care continuum,  testing for the CPPS credential will be made available as Patient Safety Awareness Week kicks off globally on March 5, 2012.

Certification requires a combination of education and experience, as well as successful completion of the evidence-based certification exam, which tests candidates on six core patient safety domains: Culture, Leadership, Risk Identification and Analysis, Data Management System Design, Mitigating Risk through Systems Thinking and Design and Human Factors Analysis, and External Influences on Patient Safety.

“It is widely recognized that, in order to make our healthcare system safer and more effective, improve the patient experience, and lower the cost of care, we need to work differently than we have in the past and incorporate all that we have learned from safety science and human factors engineering into our process design and improvement work,” said Diane Pinakiewicz, president of the National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF). “The Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety has responded to this critical need by creating the benchmarking CPPS patient safety credential, formally validating skills and competencies, and encouraging healthcare professionals from all disciplines to become the standard bearers for patient safety excellence, advancing the shared body of knowledge and practice that will make the health care system safer for all.”

The CPPS credential is recommended for nurses, physicians, pharmacists, other clinicians, healthcare leadership, patient safety professionals, risk/quality managers, non-clinical healthcare professionals, client-facing solutions providers, and all others committed to the delivery of safe patient care.

CBPPS has also developed an optional 50-question practice exam, which is parallel in content and difficulty to the actual Certified Professional in Patient Safety exam and is a diagnostic tool to assess candidates’ strengths and weaknesses.

Additional information is available at

Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety

The Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety (CBPPS) was established by, but is a separate organizational entity from, the National Patient Safety Foundation, and was created to advance, standardize, and promote patient safety knowledge competencies for healthcare professionals. To this end, successful completion of the rigorously-designed Certified Professional in Patient Safety (CPPS) exam  attests to candidates’ knowledge of essential patient safety competencies, upon which time the Board confers the CPPS credential. Those attaining the CPPS designation represent a group of committed professionals from across healthcare who are determined to advance the patient safety field and make the health care system safer for all.  To learn more, go to

National Patient Safety Foundation

The National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF) has been pursuing one mission since its founding in 1997 – to improve the safety of care provided to patients. As a central voice for patient safety, NPSF is committed to a collaborative multi-stakeholder approach in all that it does. NPSF is an independent, not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization. To learn more about the work of the National Patient Safety Foundation visit:



ABQAURP American Society for Quality American Society for Quality Healthcare Division Consumers Advancing Patient Safety
EMPSF Institute for Safe Medical Practices
Medically Induced Trauma Support Services (MITSS) Medication Safety Officers Society NPSF Partnership for Patient Safety Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine